Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
This is my world, With your words
21 janvier 2008

The Freedom Writers Diary

freedom_writers Erin_Gruwell___Color_2005

"Dear Diary,
A couple of days ago one of my friends was laid to rest.
His funeral was just like any other. Family members were crying. Someone said "Not another one" while his friends were swearing that they would get revenge. "An eye for an eye... payback's a bitch". [...]
I still remember exactly what happened the night my friend died. I was in the liquor store bying some candy. I was having trouble deciding what kind of candy I wanted. Then I heard gunshots. I turned to the door and saw that two of my friends were running into the store. When the first one came in, he dove to the floor, the other one simply fell. I looked down and saw that one of my friends had blood coming out of his back and mouth."

freedom_writers_thumb

A young black boy filled with innocence and care,
Looking for someone, but no one is there.
His first day of school, the father's not around,
To comfort his son when he's sad and down.
Looks up to his brother who knows money and power,
Watching his back every single hour.
An innocent boy is now twelve years of age,
And finds himself locked-up in a human-sized cage.
An innocent youg man is now a criminal mind,
Having nightmares of murders every single time.
But this time you'll think this fool should see the light,
But he's jumped in a gang and they nicknamed him "Snipe".
Kicked out of the house and left in the cold.
Have you been through this at eleven years old?
He says to himself "no one cares for me",
Then makes his bed in an old park tree.
The next time a park bench, how long can it last?
Will he forget this dreadful, dreadful past!
He goes to Wilson High with a messed-up trail,
And meets a guardian angel named Erin Gruwell.
He learns about the Holocaust, Anne Franck and the Jews.
Now the time comes that he should choose.
He meets Anna, Terry, Tommy and others.
These are the innocent boy's new sisters and brothers.
A 0.5 now a 2.8-
Change is good for those that wait.
He's back to innoncence, but still has fear,
That death is upon him and drawing near.
But people say it's hard to see,
This life of emotion is all about me.
All this is true, because I'm not a liar,
Just a brokenhearted male with a label - Freedom Writer!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité